Emergency Alert



Milligan students honored at awards ceremony

Katherine Starr Harrell, of Bluff City, Tennessee, received the year’s most distinguished honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award.

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, Tenn. (April 25, 2019) —Milligan College’s Awards Convocation on Thursday, April 25, celebrated many of the college’s undergraduate students and recognized their accomplishments this year. The faculty and administration announced over 80 awards and scholarships during the annual ceremony.

Katherine Starr Harrell, of Bluff City, Tennessee, received Milligan’s most distinguished student honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award.

Milligan’s faculty nominate the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award recipient each year. The award is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in service to the college, potential for continuing the objectives of the college, academic excellence and participation in college life.

Other award recipients include:

Biblical Learning: Carl Reese Brackins, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Luke Dove, Award for Outstanding Promise in Christian Education; Jonathan Guy, W. Dennis Helsabeck/Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award; Joshua Mangano, Earl R. Stuckenbruck Award for Excellence in Greek; Colby McKeehan, Fred and Esther Meding Honorary Award for Biblical Studies

Business: Isaac Barkley, Eugene P. Price Excellence in Business Studies Award; Garrett Black, Business Administration Award; Anna Hathcock, Bill Rhoades Outstanding Accounting Student Scholarship; Karson Light, Richard Phillips Outstanding Legal Studies Student Scholarship; Seth Nicol, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Business

Computer Science: Michael Bolding, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Ethan Cole, Computer Information Systems Award; Ryan Kelly, Computer Science Award; James Schneider, Computer Information Systems Award (mobile)

Education: Natalie Maurer, Paul Clark Teacher Education Award; Sara Moore, Kappa Delta Pi Award; Mackenzie Raizor, Delta Kappa Gamma Outstanding Teaching Award; Savannah Raizor, Undergraduate Student Teaching Award; Meaghan Rodgers, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award

Engineering: Doc Maines, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Elijah “Bo” Pless, Mechanical Engineering Award; Casey Williams, Electrical Engineering Award

Exercise Science: Sarah Douglas, Outstanding Student Scholarship; Jas Ferreras, Sports Management Award; MaKayla Lady Wines, Pre-Professional Award; Nicole Clemmer, Fitness/Wellness Award; Liz Maller, Coaching for Performance Award

Humane Learning: Maggie Booher, Spanish Award; Olivia Dycus, English Award; Andrea Hyder, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Amanda Lorch, German Award and Humanities Award

Nursing: Michelle Taylor, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Heather Van Cleve, Senior Nursing Award

Performing, Visual and Communicative Arts: Judith Garza, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Communication; Ashlyn Lightfoot, American Advertising Federation Northeast TN Scholarship and Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Performing and Visual Arts; Amy Shumaker and Gloria Vazquez, co-recipients of Outstanding Graphic Design Student Award; Matthew Haagen, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Music; Derek Jeffers, Concert Choir Award; Reagan Jeffers, Women’s Chorale Award; Cara Williams, Orchestra Award

Scientific Learning: Cassidy Anderson, Lone L. Sisk Award; Joshua Bullen, Outstanding Senior in Biology; Kellee Geren, Dick Lura Honorary Pre-Med Award; McKenzie Harden, Outstanding Senior in Mathematics; Hannah Rodgers, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award

Social Learning: Jalen Glass, Social Work Award; Hunter Greene and Somang Lee, co-recipients of Outstanding Student in Political Science Award; Andrea Lamb, Outstanding Student in Psychology Award; Kirsten Phillips, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Mikaela Way, Sociology Award

Scholarships awarded through Milligan’s Advancement Office were presented to Leslie Coppedge, Guy and Rhea Oakes Scholarship; Jan Kuepper and Helen Mitchell, co-recipients of Greer-Mahan Scholarship; Sydney Rhoton, Wendy I. Walstrom Memorial Scholarship; Ana Upchurch, Gabrielle R. Jones Memorial Scholarship; Taylor Williams, Jeremy S. Duncan Memorial Scholarship.

Receiving awards from Milligan’s Board of Trustees/Board of Advisors were Aaron Levarity, Outstanding Male Athlete; Liz Maller, Outstanding Female Athlete; Andrew Sheppard, Outstanding Academic Student.

The Institute for Servant Leadership presented Elinor Mullins the Servant Leadership Honor.

For research, the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Project in the Science Division was presented to Nathan Baker, Josh Clemens, Zula Coley, Doc Maines and Elijah “Bo’’ Pless. Amy Olvera-Ross received the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Project in the Humanities Division. The RISE Above Conference Presentation Awards were presented to Alex Lewis and Jenee Boston.

The SGA Student Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jonathan Guy.

Andrew Sheppard received the Student Development Leadership Award.


MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY is a Christian liberal arts university in Northeast Tennessee whose vision is to change lives and shape culture through a commitment to servant leadership. The university offers more than 100 majors, minors, pre-professional degrees and concentrations in a variety of fields, along with graduate and adult degree completion programs.  To learn more about Milligan University, visit www.milligan.edu or call 800-262-8337.

« Back to News & Events