Seeger Chapel steeple against an orange sunset

Milligan honors 10 local servant leaders

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, Tenn. (April 5, 2016) — Today, Milligan College recognized 10 local leaders who have demonstrated servant leadership in their careers and community at the college’s annual Leaders in Christian Service program in Milligan’s Mary B. Martin Auditorium located in Seeger Chapel.

Dr. Larry Calhoun, founding dean of the Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy at East Tennessee State University (ETSU), delivered the keynote address.

The 2016 Leaders in Christian Service honorees include:

William and Catherine Armstrong of Elizabethton, Tennessee, are retired in the field of education. They attend First United Methodist Church in Elizabethton.

Randy Brewer of Johnson City, Tennessee, is a science teacher and track & field coach at Science Hill High School. He attends Central Church of Christ in Johnson City.

Garland “Bubba” Evely of Erwin, Tennessee, is senior vice president at the Bank of Tennessee. He attends Love Chapel Christian Church in Erwin.

Charles “Chuck” Huffman of Kingsport, Tennessee, is a partner at Blackburn, Childers and Steagall, Certified Public Accountants. He attends Christ Fellowship Church in Kingsport.

Dr. William Kennedy of Jonesborough, Tennessee, is a retired physician at Watauga Orthopedics. He attends Central Baptist Church in Johnson City.

Michele King of Johnson City is the director of Care Services at Summit Leadership Foundation. She attends Westminster Presbyterian Church in Johnson City.

Chris O’Connor of Jonesborough is a key account manager at ConAgra Foods. He attends First Presbyterian Church in Johnson City.

Frank Proffitt of Rogersville, Tennessee, is senior vice president and commercial lender at Civis Bank. He attends First United Methodist Church in Rogersville.

Tom Terry of Johnson City is retired from working in the financial and computer technology industry. He attends Munsey Memorial United Methodist Church in Johnson City.


Posted by on April 5, 2016.