COVID Response



Awards ceremony honors Milligan students

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, TN (April 26, 2006) — Milligan College ‘s Awards Convocation was a special day for many Milligan students who were honored for their accomplishments this past year. More than 50 awards and scholarships were announced by the faculty and administration during the annual ceremony.

Abby Conley, a senior English major from Grayson, Ky., received the year’s two most distinguished awards, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award and the Dennis Bratton Leadership Award.

The Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award is nominated by the faculty and presented each year to a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in service to the college, potential for continuing the objectives of the college, academic record and participation in college life.

The Dennis Bratton Leadership Award is a new award introduced this year thatrecognizes a student for service in the community and on campus, excellence in Christian character, evidence of Christian service in a local church, and advocacy for change to improve society. The award was established by Hugh Jones and is named in honor of Dennis Bratton, senior minister at Christ’s Church in Jacksonville, Fla., and a member of the Milligan College Board of Trustees.

Conley, who also received the 2006 English Award, has been accepted to Brite Divinity School at Texas Christian University.

Local students receiving awards include:

The Theatre Recognition Award, which acknowledges a graduating senior who has made a significant contribution to the theatre program while a student at Milligan, was presented to Irena Loloci of Abingdon, Va.

The Master of Education Intern Award for early childhood education was presented to Rebekah Rimmer of Bluff City, Tenn. 

The Johnson City Press Tom Hodge Journalism Scholarship was presented to Amanda Moore of Bristol, Tenn. 

The Outstanding Senior Nursing Award was presented to Deborah Hassebrook of Gate City, Va.

The Student Leadership Award was presented to Beth Harkey of Gray, Tenn. The award is given to a graduating senior who demonstrates servant leadership, virtuous character, active leadership responsibility and potential, and serves as a role model to other students.

The Student Appreciation Award was presented to Kevin Hurley, service manager for landscaping and grounds and resident director of Webb Hall.

The Master of Education Intern Award for secondary education was presented to Meredith Clark Harper of Johnson City, Tenn. The Paul Clark Teacher Education Awardwas presented to Stephen Humphrey of Johnson CityThe Humanities Award was presented to Amos Nidiffer of Johnson CityThe Greek Award was presented to Mandy Heilman of Johnson City. The Social Learning Outstanding Student Scholarship was presented to Andy Ross of Johnson City.

The Outstanding Computer Information Project Leadership Award, The Wall Street Journal Award and The Outstanding Male Athlete Award were presented to Brandon Talbert of Mount Carmel, Tenn.

Other award recipients include:

Theatre Recognition Awards were presented to Josiah Potter of N. Ft. Meyers, Fla., Lindsey Vogt of Alexandria, Ky., and Rachel Eng, from Malaysia.

The Performing and Visual Arts Scholarship is awarded each year to a rising junior or senior fine arts major who has a minimum 3.0 GPA and who also has found significant ways to connect to the many facets of Milligan’s fine arts program. This year’s recipient was Jessica Davis of Litchfield, Ill.

The Ross Bader Concert Choir Award is presented each year to the person deemed to have made the greatest contribution to the musical and spiritual life of the Concert Choir. The recipient is selected by vote of the Concert Choir members. This year’s recipient was Leslie Johnson of Marietta, Ga.

The Humane Learning Outstanding Student Scholarship was presented to Tyler Selby of Columbia, Md. The Professional Learning (Business) Outstanding Student Scholarship was presented to Mackenzie Whittington of Front Royal, Va.

The Outstanding Mathematics Major Award and The Outstanding Academic Student Award were presented to Rachel Eng from Malaysia.

The Outstanding Biology Student Award was presented to Julie Roche of Cass City, Mich.

Mandy Fusselman of Vero Beach, Fla., was recognized with the Undergraduate Student Teaching Award for secondary education.

The Outstanding Female Athlete Award was presented to Megan Lease of Camden, N.C.

The Fine Arts Award is presented to a graduating senior whose major is fine arts. Along with excellence in the classroom, this award acknowledges the student who has best exemplified what it means to be an artist. This year’s recipient was Sarah Daasch of West Chester, Ohio.

The Music Educators National Conference Student Chapter Award was presented to Gina Jury of Bradenton, Fla. The Outstanding Student Scholarship Award for Music is presented to the person deemed to have most consistently exhibited excellence in music courses, ensembles and personal performance. The recipient is selected by vote of the full-time music faculty. This year’s recipient was Kaitlyn Ferry of Bloomington, Ind., who also received The Chamber Orchestra Award.

The Outstanding Communication Student Scholarship Award was presented to Brian Goad of Oak Ridge, N.C. The WJHL Lancaster Scholarship Award was presented to Josh Redden of Portsmouth, Ohio.

The German Award is presented on the basis of outstanding achievement, exemplary commitment and measurable progress in the acquisition of German language skills. This year’s recipient was Angela McCann of Radcliff , Ky. The French Award was presented to Justin Ciralsky of Plainfield, Ind. The Spanish Award was presented to Kori Zick of Durand, Ill.

The Standard Publishing Award for Outstanding Promise in Christian Education was presented to Lisa Brandon of Louisville, Ky. The Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award was presented to David Bielik of St. Louis, Mo.

The Student Psychology Major of the Year Award and The Social Learning Outstanding Student Scholarship were presented to Tera Bradley of Troy, Ohio.

The Biblical Learning Outstanding Student Scholarship was presented to Ryan Allcott of Pensacola, Fla.

The Legal Studies Award was presented to Nate Tincher of Jacksonville, Fla.

The Chemistry Student Award was presented to Christa Smith of St. Cloud, Fla. The Lone L. Sisk Award was presented to Justin Fuller of Plainfield, Ind. The Scientific Learning Outstanding Student Scholarship recipient was Austin Turner of Franklin, Tenn.

The Outstanding Senior Nursing Award was presented to Richard Kenny of High Point, N.C.

The Human Performance and Exercise Science Award was presented to Amy Batchelor of Flora, Ill.

The Computer Information Systems Outstanding Student Award was presented to Peter Thomas of Dresden, Ohio.

The Master of Business Administration Outstanding Student Award was presented to Mark Zwahlen of Memphis, Tenn.

The Delta Kappa Gamma Outstanding Teaching Award was presented to Leah Seevers of Glouster, Ohio. The Professional Learning (Education) Outstanding Student Scholarship went to Kelly Slocum of Clay, N.Y.

The SGA Distinguished Service Award was presented to Maggie Blankenship of McAllen, Texas.

For more information about the Who’s Who recipients, Alpha Chi National Honor Society inductees, and the Nursing Honor Society inductees, please visit:http://www.milligan.edu/news for individual news releases.


MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY is a Christian liberal arts university in Northeast Tennessee whose vision is to change lives and shape culture through a commitment to servant leadership. The university offers more than 100 majors, minors, pre-professional degrees and concentrations in a variety of fields, along with graduate and adult degree completion programs.  To learn more about Milligan University, visit www.milligan.edu or call 800-262-8337.

« Back to News & Events