Seeger Chapel steeple against an orange sunset

Milligan students honored at awards convocation

MILLIGAN, Tenn. (April 18, 2024) — Milligan University held its annual Awards Convocation today, Thursday, April 21, to celebrate many of the university’s students and their accomplishments. The faculty and administration announced nearly 100 awards and scholarships during this year’s ceremony.

Evan Magness, of Johnson City, Tennessee, received Milligan’s most distinguished student honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award.

Milligan’s faculty nominate the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award recipient each year. The award is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in service to the university, potential for continuing the objectives of Milligan, academic excellence and participation in college life.

Other award recipients include:

Biblical Learning: Bethany Hicks (Sugar Grove, NC), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Julie Gray (Knoxville, TN) and Tyler Dixon (Bluff City, TN), Outstanding Promise in Christian Education Award; Marlee Kastens (Johnson City, TN), Earl R. Stuckenbruck Award for Excellence in Greek; Skyelar Perdue (Thomaston, GA), Fred and Esther Meding Honorary Award for Biblical Studies; Evan Magness (Johnson City, TN), W. Dennis Helsabeck/Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award

Business: Hadley York (Friendsville, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Jacob Spencer (Fairview, NC), Bill Rhoades Outstanding Accounting Student Scholarship; Gabrielle Hammond (Naperville, IL), Eugene P. Price Excellence in Economics Award; Seth Bible (Telford, TN), Richard Phillips Outstanding Legal Studies Student Scholarship; Kylie Enarson (Corona, CA), Business Administration Award

Computer Science: Peter Gilbert (Gainsville, VA), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Grace Allen (Kingsport, TN), Computer Science Award; Gabriella Cedillos-Dixon (Riverview, FL), Cybersecurity Award; Jonathan Huckaba (Elizabethton, TN), Information Systems Award

Education: Rachel Dulaney (Jonesborough, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Alexandra Johnson (Greeneville, TN), Paul Clark Teacher Education Award; Jaycie Jenkins (Gray, TN), Delta Kappa Gamma Outstanding Teaching Award; Grace Elkins (Johnson City, TN), Outstanding Student Teaching Award; Samuel Arendale (Maryville, TN), Drs. W. Edward and Billye Joyce Fine Teacher Education Servant-Leader Award

Engineering: Corey Greeson (Murfreesboro, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award and Nuclear Fuel Services Scholarship Top Mechanical Engineering Rising Senior; Jacob Russell (Johnson City, TN), Nuclear Fuel Services Scholarship Top Electrical Engineering Rising Senior; Grace Allen (Kingsport, TN), Electrical Engineering Award; Kaelyn Slaughter (Anderson, SC), Mechanical Engineering Award

Exercise Science: Flynn Carlson (Valparaiso, IN), Outstanding Student Scholarship; Nathan Smiley (Ft. Myers, FL), Coaching for Performance Award; Christopher Treviño (Los Fresnos, TX), Fitness/Wellness Award; Jacob Poe (Youngsville, LA), Pre-Professional Award; Kelsea Baines (Johnson City, TN), Sport Management Award

Humane Learning: Ella Stoneham (Charlotte, NC), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Bryant Magness (Johnson City, TN), English Award; Arran Kearney (Great Britain), History Award; Marnie Tallon (Houston, TX), Humanities Award

Nursing: Kori Barnhill (Owings, MD), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Lauren Worley (Bristol, TN), Nursing Award

Performing, Visual and Communicative Arts: Sydney Reeder-Wood (Murfreesboro, TN), Outstanding Senior Fine Arts Student Award; Kendall Arnold (Bluff City, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Fine Arts; Layney Loyd (New London, IA), Outstanding Senior Communications Student Award; Abbey Cartagena (Johnson City, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Communications; Max Brown (Chuckey, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Music; Esther Kavanaugh (Johnson City, TN), Orchestra Award; Josh Nickens (Kingsport, TN), Outstanding Vocal Ensemble Member Award

Scientific Learning: Max Brown (Chuckey, TN), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Anna Jones (Murfreesboro, TN), Dick Lura Honorary Pre-Med Award; Gabriel Aquino (Blountville, TN), Lone L. Sisk Award; Blake Fauver (Blountville, TN), Biology Award; Thomas Johnson (Gray, TN), Chemistry Award; Gabrielle Hammond (Naperville, IL), Mathematics Award

Social Learning: Suzanne Aguirre (Bradenton, FL), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Benjamin Wagner (Jefferson, TN), Criminology/Criminal Justice Award; Nathan Briscoe (Jonesborough TN), Political Science Award; Madison Simounet (Gray, TN), Psychology Award; Allee Griffeth Kimbrel (Johnson City, TN), Social Work Award

Scholarships awarded through Milligan’s Advancement Office were presented to Ella Maiden (Damascus, VA), Greer-Mahan Scholarship; Ravenn Monington (Elizabethton, TN), Jeremy S. Duncan Memorial Scholarship; and Kira Ryan (Myrtle Beach, SC), Wendy I. Walstrom Memorial Scholarship. Annika Hoefler (Winter Park, FL), received both the Gabrielle R. Jones Memorial Scholarship and the Guy and Rhea Oakes Scholarship.

Receiving awards from Milligan’s Board of Trustees and Board of Advisors were Grace Allen (Kingsport, TN), Outstanding Academic Student; Gabrielle Hammond (Naperville, IL), Outstanding Female Athlete; and Marius Grytdal (Norway), Outstanding Male Athlete.

The Institute for Servant Leadership presented Jack Presnell (Elizabethton, TN) with the Servant Leadership Honor.

For research, the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Project Award was presented to Suzanne Aguirre (Bradenton, FL) and Madison Simounet (Gray, TN). Simounet also received the Research Scholar Award. The Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor was awarded to Dr. Christine Browning, retiring professor of counseling.

The SGA Student Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jared Richards (Lake Wales, FL). Samuel Dorcely (Corryton, TN) received the Student Development Leadership Award. The SGA Faculty Appreciation Award was presented to Dr. Amy Edmonds, associate professor of political science, and Amanda Oxendine received the SGA Staff Appreciation Award.

Posted by Greer, Allie E on April 18, 2024.