Seeger Chapel steeple against an orange sunset

Milligan students honored at annual awards convocation

Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award receients

MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY, Tenn. (April 21, 2022) — Milligan University’s Awards Convocation held Thursday, April 21, celebrated many of the university’s students and their accomplishments. The faculty and administration announced nearly 100 awards and scholarships during the annual ceremony.

Milligan’s most distinguished student honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award, is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in service to the university, potential for continuing the objectives of Milligan, academic excellence and participation in college life. This year, two seniors were honored, Abigail Haagen (Johnson City, Tenn.) and Chase McGlamery (Mountain City, Tenn.).  

McGlamery, who served as a resident assistant for three years and as Student Government Association (SGA) president this year, also received the Student Development Leadership Award. In addition to his involvement on campus, McGlamery is a two-time national Presidential Volunteer Service Award recipient for volunteer work in his hometown.

Other award recipients include:

Biblical Learning: Caleb Peterson (Louisville, Ky.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Anna Konstantopoulos (Gray, Tenn.), Earl R. Stuckenbruck Award for Excellence in Greek; Madeline Manear (Fallston, Md.), Fred and Esther Meding Honorary Award for Biblical Studies; Megan van Greunen (Perry Hall, Md.), Outstanding Promise in Christian Education Award; Matthew Haagen (Etowah, N.C.), W. Dennis Helsabeck/Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award

Business: Taylor Dawson (Knoxville, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Lauren Junge (Butler, Tenn.), Bill Rhoades Outstanding Accounting Student Scholarship; Elideth Lopez (Chuckey, Tenn.), Richard Phillips Outstanding Legal Studies Student Scholarship; Moses Coley (Johnson City, Tenn.), Eugene P. Price Excellence in Economics Award; Maggie Baldwin (Franklin, N.C.), Business Administration Award

Computer Science: Jonathan Attanasio (Knoxville, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Miranda Milligton (Hartland, Mich.), Computer Science Award; Noah Mullen (Mountain City, Tenn.), Information Systems Award

Education: Molly Dines (Milton, Ga.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Sarah Elizabeth Baker (Hertford, N.C.), Paul Clark Teacher Education Award; Anna Backus (Titusville, Fla.), Delta Kappa Gamma Outstanding Teaching Award; Gabrielle Mardis (Johnson City, Tenn.), Intern Award-Elementary; Rebekah Timbs (Johnson City, Tenn.), Intern Award-Job Embedded; Ashlea Martin (Gray, Tenn.), Undergraduate Student Teaching Award-Early Childhood; Danielle Walters (Mount Carmel, Tenn.), Undergraduate Student Teaching Award-Elementary

Engineering: Rachel Scheffer (Lenioir City, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award and Nuclear Fuel Services Scholarship Top Electrical Engineering Rising Senior; Alayna Perryman (Newport, Tenn.), Electrical Engineering Award; Korynne Taylor (Columbus, Ohio), Mechanical Engineering Award; Jon Barrett (Mountain City, Tenn.), Nuclear Fuel Services Scholarship Top Mechanical Engineering Rising Senior

Exercise Science: Hannah Chatterton (Waynesboro, Va.), Outstanding Student Scholarship; Dona Meade Plum (Bishop, Calif.), Coaching for Performance Award; Brian Baxa (Danville, Ky.), Fitness/Wellness Award; Jenny Simonsen (Johnson City, Tenn.), Pre-Professional Award

Humane Learning: Olivia Brokaw (Lexington, S.C.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Isaac Wood (Marshall, Ill.), English Award; Rebecca Burns (Johnson City, Tenn.), Humanities Award; Emily Messner (Lincoln, Ill.), History Award

Nursing: Katie Cronin (Greeneville, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Elizabeth Dotson (Kingsport, Tenn.), Nursing Award

Performing, Visual and Communicative Arts: Katherine Eldridge (Fort Payne, Ala.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Communications; Rebekah Mabus (Galax, Va.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Music; Lauren Petty (Jackson, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Performing and Visual Arts; Kathryn Baylor (Columbus, Ind.), Communications Award; Dakota Mohler (Del Rio, Tenn.), Concert Choir Award; Esther Kavanaugh (Johnson City, Tenn.), Orchestra Award

Scientific Learning: Ali Burns (Johnson City, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Landon Brown (Chuckey, Tenn.), Dick Lura Honorary Pre-Med Award; Cameron McConnell (Newport, Tenn.), Lone L. Sisk Award; Danielle Bryant (Knoxville, Tenn.), Biology Award; Dakota Topp (Anthem, Ariz.), Chemistry Award; Andre Levarity (Freeport, Bahamas), Mathematics Award

Social Learning: Hannah Stam (Kingsport, Tenn.), Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Ellie Cachiaras (Fallston, Md.), International Studies Award; Holly Lay (Mountain City, Tenn.), Political Science Award; Lydia Helton (Kingsport, Tenn.), Psychology Award; Herandy Lucas Pino (Johnson City, Tenn.), Social Work Award

Scholarships awarded through Milligan’s Advancement Office were presented to Jaycie Jenkins (Gray, Tenn.), Gabrielle R. Jones Memorial Scholarship; Marius Grytdal (Moss, Norway), Greer-Mahan Scholarship; and Marinda Walls (Gray, Tenn.), Wendy I. Walstrom Memorial Scholarship. Greyson Stevens (Fall Branch, Tenn.) received both the Guy and Rhea Oakes Scholarship and Jeremy S. Duncan Memorial Scholarship. 

Receiving awards from Milligan’s Board of Trustees and Board of Advisors were Lydia Helton (Kingsport, Tenn.), Outstanding Academic Student; Danielle Bryant (Knoxville, Tenn.), Outstanding Female Athlete; and Micah Carrier (Bristol, Tenn.), Outstanding Male Athlete.

The Institute for Servant Leadership presented Mallory Fehl (Fishers, Ind.) with the Servant Leadership Honor.

For research, the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Project Award was presented to Anna Konstantopoulos (Gray, Tenn.). In addition, Konstantopoulos, Danielle Bryant (Knoxville, Tenn.), Lydia Helton (Kingsport, Tenn.) and Dakota Topp (Anthem, Ariz.) received Research Scholar Awards. The Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor was awarded to Dr. John Paul Abner, professor of psychology and occupational therapy. The RISE Above Research Theme Awards were presented to Blake Fauver (Blountville, Tenn.), Alexandre Frances (Rocafort Valencia, Spain), Cody Leonard (Blountville, Tenn.), Alayna Perryman (Newport, Tenn.) and Steven Shake (Florence, S.C.).

The SGA Student Distinguished Service Award was presented to Emmah Ndune (Johnson City, Tenn.). The SGA Faculty Appreciation Award was presented to Dr. Bruce Montgomery, retiring professor of communications, and Christian Pope, director of athletics, received the SGA Staff Appreciation Award.


MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY is a Christian liberal arts institution in Johnson City, Tennessee, whose vision is to change lives and shape culture through a commitment to servant-leadership. The university offers more than 100 majors, minors, pre-professional degrees and concentrations in a variety of fields, along with graduate and adult degree completion programs. To learn more , visit or call 423.461.8700.

Posted by Chandrea Shell on April 21, 2022.