Emergency Alert



Milligan students honored at awards ceremony

Bo Pless received Milligan’s most distinguished student honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award.

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, Tenn. (April 30, 2020) —Milligan College celebrated the end of the spring semester with a virtual Awards Convocation and Blessing Service today, Thursday, April 30. The annual awards ceremony recognizes many of the college’s undergraduate students and celebrates their accomplishments. This year, Milligan combined the Awards Convocation with the college’s annual Blessing Service, a worship service that honors this year’s graduating class.

Today, the faculty and administration announced over 80 awards and scholarships during the ceremony.

Bo Pless, of Elizabethton, Tennessee, received Milligan’s most distinguished student honor, the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award.

Milligan’s faculty nominate the Ivor Jones Outstanding Senior Award recipient each year. The award is presented to a graduating senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in service to the college, potential for continuing the objectives of the college, academic excellence and participation in college life.

Pless, a mechanical engineering major, was a Jeanes Honors Scholar and a member of Milligan’s men’s basketball team. He also was honored as a co-recipient of the Mechanical Engineering Award.

Other award recipients include:

Biblical Learning: Ellie Cachiaras, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Gabi Brown, Earl R. Stuckenbruck Award for Excellence in Greek; Matthew Haagen, Fred and Esther Meding Honorary Award for Biblical Studies; Hannah Luzadder, Outstanding Promise in Christian Education Award; Reese Brackins, W. Dennis Helsabeck/Stone-Campbell Journal Promising Scholar Award

Business: Shanteal Davis, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Business; Joelle Canary, Bill Rhoades Outstanding Accounting Student Scholarship; Manuela Escobar, Richard Phillips Outstanding Legal Studies Student Scholarship; Connor Whitson, Eugene P. Price Excellence in Business Studies Award; Hannah Short, Business Administration Award

Computer Science: Noah Mullen, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Andrew Burton, Computer Information Systems Award; Jack Presnell, Computer Information Systems Award (mobile); Cody Mudrack, Computer Science Award

Education: Gabrielle Mardis, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Meaghan Rodgers, Paul Clark Teacher Education Award; Lindsey Grow, Delta Kappa Gamma Outstanding Teaching Award; Leah Moore, Kappa Delta Pi Award; Jordan Goodwin Carter and Josie Milam, Undergraduate Student Teaching Award; Rebecca Foxx and Riley Prickett, Intern Award for Elementary; William Carrier, Intern Award for Secondary; Derek Jeffers, Intern Award K-12; Russell Bennett and Louisa Gaudiano, Education Area Research Award

Engineering: Ian Kelly, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Bo Pless, Doc Maines and Sarah Robinson, Mechanical Engineering Award; Casey Williams, Electrical Engineering Award

Exercise Science: Shanteal Davis, Outstanding Student Scholarship; Joel Dominguez, Coaching for Performance Award; Matthew Silva, Fitness/Wellness Award; Ryne Baines, Physical Education Award; Sarah Douglas, Pre-Professional Award; Helen Mitchell, Sports Management Award

Humane Learning: Andrea Hyder, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Morgan Glovier, English Award; Dawson Jacobs, German Award; Elizabeth Dotson, Humanities Award; Emma Ellis, Spanish Award

Nursing: Kate Sheppard, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Mikayla Brama, Senior Nursing Award

Performing, Visual and Communicative Arts: Chase McGlamery, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Communication; Katie Cochran, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Music; Amanda Lorch, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award in Performing and Visual Arts; Taylor Williams, Cinema Award; Emma Albrecht, Communications Award; Benjamin Campbell, Concert Choir Award; Amy Shumaker and Taylor Williams, Fine Arts Award; Sydney Rhoton and Amy Shumaker, Graphic Design Award; Elizabeth Dykes Williams, Orchestra Award; Judith Garza, Public Relations Award; Kayla Baker and Maggie Halloran Blazo, Stampede Leadership Award Scholarship; Hannah Luzadder, Women’s Chorale Award; Elijah Manship, WUMC Radio Student Leadership Award

Scientific Learning: Eden Huhn, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Drake Shull, Dick Lura Honorary Pre-Med Award; Kellee Geren, Lone L. Sisk Award; Hannah Rodgers, Biology Award; Greg Abarientos, Mathematics Award

Social Learning: Hannah Brokaw, Outstanding Student Scholarship Award; Patrick Lines, Political Science Award; Ashlyn Jackson, Psychology Award; Emma Ellis, Social Work Award; Sarah Masih, Sociology Award

Scholarships awarded through Milligan’s Advancement Office were presented to Emily Harper, Gabrielle R. Jones Memorial Scholarship; Jan Kuepper, Greer-Mahan Scholarship; Sydney Rhoton, Guy and Rhea Oakes Scholarship; Elizabeth Dotson, Jeremy S. Duncan Memorial Scholarship; and Rachel Scheffer, Wendy I. Walstrom Memorial Scholarship.

Receiving awards from Milligan’s Board of Trustees and Board of Advisors were Emma Ellis, Outstanding Academic Student; Kellee Geren, Outstanding Female Athlete; and Roberto Fernandez Garrido, Outstanding Male Athlete.

The Institute for Servant Leadership presented Emma Albrecht the Servant Leadership Honor.

For research, the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Project Award was presented to Hannah Rodgers. The RISE Above Research Theme Awards were presented to Maggie Booher and Amy Shumaker for humanities; Ethan Wymer for social science; Zula Coley, Jay Wheeler, Randy Huerta, John Cole and Sarah Robinson for STEM; and Elijah Hook for graduate research.

The SGA Student Distinguished Service Award was presented to Teve Mushayamunda.

Hannah Luzadder received the Student Development Leadership Award.

A recording of the service can be viewed on Milligan’s YouTube Channel.


MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY is a Christian liberal arts university in Northeast Tennessee whose vision is to change lives and shape culture through a commitment to servant leadership. The university offers more than 100 majors, minors, pre-professional degrees and concentrations in a variety of fields, along with graduate and adult degree completion programs.  To learn more about Milligan University, visit www.milligan.edu or call 800-262-8337.

« Back to News & Events