Seeger Chapel steeple against an orange sunset

Milligan installs new endowed faculty chair

MILLIGAN COLLEGE, TN (September 4, 2018) — Today, Milligan College installed Dr. Patrick Kariuki as the W. Edward and Billye Joyce Fine Chair of Education, a newly established endowed faculty chair.

“I am pleased to announce the addition of the college’s 13th endowed faculty chair, made possible through the generosity of Milligan alumni and longtime supporters Drs. Eddie and Billye Joyce Fine of Elizabethton, Tennessee,” said Milligan President Dr. Bill Greer. “The Fines have dedicated their careers to ministry and education and have served Milligan for many years.”

The new endowed chair honors the Fines’ leadership and commitment to the college. Dr. Billye Joyce Fine has served as a member of Milligan’s education faculty since 2001, previously serving as Director of Teacher Education, and today, as adjunct professor of education. Dr. Eddie Fine has served as a leader on various boards at Milligan, and today, he ministers to Downtown Christian Church in Johnson City, Tennessee.

Tuesday’s installation service honored Kariuki’s commitment to teacher education at Milligan.

“Thanks to the hard work and dedication of Dr. Kariuki and the entire teacher education faculty, our graduates are among the most sought-after teachers in area school systems and beyond,” Greer said.

Kariuki holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology from Lee University, a Master of Arts degree in clinical psychology and a doctorate degree in education from East Tennessee State University.

Since joining Milligan’s faculty in 1995, Kariuki has taught graduate-level courses in research methods, data analysis and advanced child development. He also teaches undergraduate psychology and child development courses. In addition to teaching, he serves as the senior pastor of East Johnson City Church of God.

“Dr. Kariuki exemplifies servant-leadership in all aspects of his life, and I know he will continue to represent Milligan well as he invests in educators who will make a significant difference in the lives of their students,” said Greer.

Milligan is committed to the tradition and importance of named and endowed chairs in recognizing and fostering academic excellence among its faculty. A named chair is established in honor of a benefactor who has shown sacrificial support to the college’s academic programs and is reserved for distinguished scholars and teachers. An endowed chair is a named chair that is supported by an endowment provided by generous friends of the college. Income from the endowment fund helps underwrite the salary for the professor named to the position. Other endowed chairs at Milligan include: Dr. Paul Blowers, Dean E. Walker Chair of Church History; Dr. Carolyn Carter, Don and Clarinda Jeanes Chair of Servant Leadership; Dr. Tausha Clay, Paul Clark Chair of Teacher Education; Dr. Melinda Collins, Ballad Health Chair of Nursing; Dr. Timothy Dillon, Henry and Emerald Webb Chair of History; Dr. Craig Farmer, Joel O. and Mabel Stephens Chair of Bible; Dr. William Greer, J. Henry Kegley Chair of Business and Economics; Dr. Gregory Harrell, Malcolm C. and Ruth G. Myers Chair of Engineering; Dr. Jack Holland, Russell F. and Marian J. Blowers Chair of Christian Ministries; Dr. Heather Hoover, George and Janet Arnold Chair of Humanities; Dr. Philip Kenneson, Kenneth E. Starkey Chair of Bible and Christian Ministries; and Dr. Jeffrey D. Miller, Vera Britton Chair of Bible.

Learn more about Milligan’s teacher education programs at

Posted by on September 4, 2018.